Urban Area


Urban Areas are statistically defined areas with no administrative or legal basis. There is a three part hierarchical sub-division of urban areas into:
- main urban areas
- secondary urban areas
- minor urban areas.

Together the populations in main, secondary and minor urban areas comprise the statistically defined urban population of New Zealand. The urban area classification is designed to identify concentrated urban or semi-urban settlements without the distortions of administrative boundaries.